Singapore Premier League • May 9, 2024

2024/25 SPL Club Guide: BG Tampines Rovers



Ahead of the 2024-2025 Singapore Premier League (SPL) season, we look at each of the nine clubs participating in the 29th season of the domestic top flight. Today’s focus is on BG Tampines Rovers!


Seasons: 29

Nickname: The Stags

Stadium: Jalan Besar Stadium (For the 2024/25 season)

Highest finish: 1st (2004, 2005, 2011, 2012, 2013)

2023 finish: 3rd

Chairman: Desmond Ong

Head coach: Gavin Lee

Captain: Syazwan Buhari

Foreigners: Boris Kopitović (Montenegro), Miloš Zlatković (Serbia), Kyoga Nakamura (Japan), Seia Kunori (Japan), Shuya Yamashita (Japan), Thitipat Ekarunpong (Thailand), Thanet Suknate (Thailand)

Social media platforms: Facebook | Twitter | Instagram


A loss of form down the stretch of their last SPL campaign – where they won just once and suffered three consecutive defeats in their final five matches – meant that Tampines finished as the 2nd best-placed local side for the second season running.


Gavin Lee will helm the Stags for a sixth consecutive season, and the newly minted Singapore national team assistant will have hopes of a better campaign this time round. He has largely kept the core of the side intact, with all four foreigners from 2023 – Boris Kopitović, Miloš Zlatković, Kyoga Nakamura and Shuya Yamashita – returning for another shot at glory.


With long-serving captain Yasir Hanapi returning for another spell with the club due to several injuries in midfield, the Stags show that they mean business with the addition of 2023 SPL Young Player of the Year Seia Kunori to bolster their frontline.


Apart from Kunori, who struck 21 league goals for champions Albirex Niigata (S) last season, the Stags have also signed midfielder Jared Gallagher and welcomed defender Amirul Adli back for a second stint at the club. Thai players Thitipat Ekarunpong and Thanet Suknate have also joined the Stags as part of the three-year collaboration with Thai League 1 side BG Pathum United, which saw the club renamed to BG Tampines Rovers from 2024 onwards.


Tampines have impressed in the SPL Interim Pre-Season Tournament — notching convincing victories over the Young Lions (4-1), Hougang United (3-0), Albirex (7-1) and Lion City Sailors (1-13) and will surely be hoping to carry this form over into the new SPL season that kicks off in May.


2022 SPL top scorer Boris Kopitović is just 11 goals away from surpassing Aleksandar Đurić as the Stags’ all-time leading scorer. That should be sufficient motivation for the Montenegro striker as he looks to fire Tampines to glory on all fronts both in the league and cup competitions.


Squad (as at time of publication)

Goalkeepers: Syazwan Buhari, Ridhuan Barudin

Defenders: Shuya Yamashita, Amirul Adli, Amirul Haikal, Syahrul Sazali, Irfan Najeeb, Thanet Suknate, Miloš Zlatković

Midfielders: Jared Gallagher, Shah Shahiran, Kyoga Nakamura, Joel Chew, Saifullah Akbar, Yasir Hanapi

Forwards: Seia Kunori, Boris Kopitović, Glenn Kweh, Taufik Suparno, Faris Ramli, Thitipat Ekarunpong


Follow us on FacebookX (formerly known as Twitter) and Instagram!