Singapore Premier League • May 9, 2024

2024/25 SPL Club Guide: Brunei DPMM



Ahead of the 2024-2025 Singapore Premier League (SPL) season, we look at each of the nine clubs participating in the 29th season of the domestic top flight. Today, we will be looking at Brunei DPMM!


Seasons: 11

Nickname: Nil

Stadium: Hassanal Bolkiah National Stadium

Highest finish: 1st (2015, 2019)

2023 finish: 7th

Head Coach: Rui Capela

Captain: Azwan Ali Rahman

Foreigners: Kristijan Naumovski (Macedonia), Farshad Noor (Afghanistan), Miguel Oliveira (Portugal), Gabriel Gama (Brazil), Julio Cruz (Mexico), Patrick Flottmann (Australia)

Key signings: Patrick Flottmann, Julio Cruz, Miguel Oliveira


Social media platforms: Facebook | Instagram


After a seventh-placed finish upon their return to the SPL last year, DPMM will be eyeing an improved 2024/25 campaign. Struggling for consistency, the two-time league champions found it tough going and ended the 2023 season with only six wins to their name.


To that end, changes have been made with Portuguese Rui Capela taking over the reins from Adrian Pennock as head coach.


Having joined midway through the 2023 season, Macedonian goalkeeper Kristijan Naumovski and Afghanistan midfielder Farshad Noor have been retained. DPMM have also secured the services of former Sydney FC and Seongnam FC centre-back Patrick Flottmann. Meanwhile, attackers Gabriel Gama, Miguel Oliveira and Julio Cruz make up the foreign contingent as they look to rejuvenate a side that scored 39 goals in 2023.


A shining light for Brunei DPMM last season, the good news is that Hakeme Yazid will continue to spearhead DPMM’s attack. A nominee for the 2023 Young Player of the Year award, the dimunitive 21-year-old caught the eye with 13 goals and notched seven assists in all competitions.


The experience of local players like Azwan Ali Rahman, Yura Indera and Najib Tarif will prove vital as Capela looks to deliver DPMM’s first SPL title since 2019 in his first season in charge.


Squad (as at time of publication)


Goalkeepers: Kristijan Naumovski, Haimie Nyaring


Defenders: Abdul Mu’iz Sisa, Hanif Farhan, Hanif Hamir, Nur Ikhwan Othman, Yura Indera Putera, Danish Firdaus, Patrick Flottmann, Nazry Aiman


Midfielders: Farshad Noor, Azwan Saleh, Azwan Ali Rahman, Najib Tarif, Syafiq Hilmi, Faturrahman Embran, Safwan Zawawi


Forwards: Hakeme Yazid, Gabriel Gama, Miguel Oliveira, Julio Cruz, Nazirrudin Ismail


Follow us on FacebookX (formerly known as Twitter) and Instagram!