Singapore Premier League • May 9, 2024

2024/25 SPL Club Guide: Geylang International



Ahead of the 2024-2025 Singapore Premier League (SPL) season, we look at each of the nine clubs participating in the 29th season of the domestic top flight. Today’s focus is on Geylang International!


Seasons: 29

Nickname: The Eagles

Stadium: Jalan Besar Stadium (For the 2024/25 season)

Highest finish: 1st (1996, 2001)

2023 finish: 5th

Chairman: Thomas Gay

Head coach: Mohd Noor Ali

Captain: Joshua Pereira

Foreigners: Vincent Bezecourt (France), Keito Hariya (Japan), Rio Sakuma (Japan), Ryoya Taniguchi (Japan),          Takahiro Tezuka (Japan), Tomoyuki Doi (Japan), Sora Tanaka (Japan), Barnaby Davies (Australia), Zach Whitehouse (England)

Social media platforms: Facebook | Instagram


Geylang were a goal up and 45 minutes away from securing back-to-back top-four finishes in the SPL last season, but conceded three second-half goals to the Sailors in their final match to finish 5th. That result was a microcosm of the Eagles’ 2023 season — an inconsistent campaign where they never managed to string a run of more than two wins in a row, ultimately finishing with 10 wins and 11 losses in 24 matches.


Mohd Noor Ali will lead Geylang for the sixth season in a row and surely hopes for a better showing in the new campaign. The former Singapore international has retained the services of several key figures such as Japanese pair Rio Sakuma and Takahiro Tezuka, captain Joshua Pereira and forward Iqbal Hussain. French midfielder Vincent Bezecourt will return for a third season after having his season cut short last year due to an anterior cruciate ligament injury.


Noor Ali, however, could not prevent the departure of Yushi Yamaya, who led the way with 12 goals in all competitions last year. The Japanese winger departed the club during the off-season to join Akademisk Boldklub in the Danish second division.


In response, the Eagles have made a statement of intent by landing three big names — 2021 SPL Player of the Year and top scorer Tomoyuki Doi, 62-cap Singapore defender Shakir Hamzah, and attacking midfielder Ryoya Taniguchi, who netted 24 goals in all competitions for Balestier Khalsa last season. Rising star Zikos Chua is also back at the club after spending the past two seasons on loan at Young Lions while serving the nation.


Having kept the core of the squad intact and recruited several star names, the Eagles will hope it translates to greater consistency on the field as they look to make a splash in the 2024-2025 season.


Squad (as at time of publication)

Goalkeepers: Hairul Syirhan, Rudy Khairullah

Defenders: Faisal Shahril, Joshua Pereira, Rio Sakuma, Ahmad Syahir, Naqiuddin Eunos, Akmal Azman, Keito Hariya, Shakir Hamzah

Midfielders: Takahiro Tezuka, Vincent Bezecourt, Huzaifah Aziz, Noor Ariff, Nur Luqman

Forwards: Ryoya Taniguchi, Naufal Azman, Tomoyuki Doi, Iqbal Hussain, Sora Tanaka, Zikos Vasileios Chua


Follow us on FacebookX (formerly known as Twitter) and Instagram!