Singapore Premier League • May 10, 2024

2024/25 SPL Club Guide: Young Lions


Ahead of the 2024-2025 Singapore Premier League (SPL) season, we look at each of the nine clubs participating in the 29th season of the domestic top flight. Today’s focus is on Young Lions!


Seasons: 22

Nickname: None

Stadium: Jalan Besar Stadium

Highest finish: 3rd (2004, 2006)

2023 finish: 9th

Head coach: Nazri Nasir

Captain: Farhan Zulkifli

Foreigners: Jun Kobayashi, Kan Kobayashi, Kaisei Ogawa, Enomoto Itsuki (all Japan), Hayek Rashid Bilal (Australia)

Key signings: Enomoto Itsuki, Nur Adam Abdullah, Ryaan Sanizal, Fathullah Rahmat 

Social media platforms: Facebook | Twitter | Instagram


They may have finished bottom of the SPL last season, but the Young Lions can be quietly optimistic ahead of the 2024/25 campaign.


Indeed, 2023 was one to forget for Nazri Nasir’s charges as they picked up only one win in the SPL, which came in a 2-1 victory over Hougang United in March.


After scoring just 24 times last term, the Young Lions were quick to address that by signing striker Enomoto Itsuki from J3 League side Matsumoto Yamaga in a bid to add firepower upfront. Standing at 1.86m, the 23-year-old Saitama native is expected to be the focal point of attack for the goal-shy Young Lions. Japanese duo Jun Kobayashi and Kan Kobayashi have also been retained, while midfielder Kaisei Ogawa has joined from defending champions Albirex Niigata (S).


While midfielders Harhys Stewart and Jared Gallagher have left, Nazri still has key players like captain Farhan Zulkifli as well as Kieran Teo and Fairuz Fazli, who recently earned call-ups to the Singapore Men’s National Team, at his disposal.


Fans can look forward to watching familiar names in action for the Young Lions too, with tenacious left-back Nur Adam Abdullah, defender Ryaan Sanizal and midfielder Fathullah Rahmat expected to play vital roles for the developmental side.


Squad (as at time of publication)


Goalkeepers: Aizil Yazid, Rauf Erwan, Travis Ang, Umayr Sujuandy, Firman Nabil


Defenders: Raoul Suhaimi, Aqil Yazid, Ikram Mikhail, Jun Kobayashi, Syafi Nur Hilman, Kieran Teo, Andrew Aw, Fairuz Fazli, Danish Haqimi, Febryan Putra, Izz Anaqi, Nur Adam Abdullah, Ryaan Sanizal, Haziq Ridhuan, Hayek Rashid Bilal


Midfielders: Kan Kobayashi, Kaisei Ogawa, Amir Syafiz, Farhan Zulkifli, Wong Ngang Haang, Fathullah Rahmat, Samuel Francis Pillai, Danish Qayyum, Sahoo Garv, Rasul Ramli, Nyqil Iyyan, Ethan Henry Pinto


Forwards: Enomoto Itsuki, Danish Haziq, Akash Rai


Follow us on FacebookX (formerly known as Twitter) and Instagram!