News Singapore Premier League • August 12, 2023

Albirex Niigata (S) are 2023 AIA Singapore Premier League Champions!



SINGAPORE, 12 AUGUST 2023 – Albirex Niigata (S) secured a second consecutive league title on Friday night after notching up a closely contested victory over Tanjong Pagar United in the 2023 Singapore Premier League.


The Japanese side arrived at the Jurong East Stadium with a commanding five-point lead as well as a match in hand over their closest challengers, Lion City Sailors. A win on the night would not only cement their dominance but also secure the league championship with two games yet to be contested in the ongoing season.


In a gripping contest, Albirex Niigata established an early lead through Shuto Komaki’s goal in the 17th minute. The game saw plenty of chances for both sides but it was ace midfielder Tadanari Lee who added onto the advantage for the White Swans by finding the back of the net to make it two goals without reply to the league leaders close to the hour mark. Tanjong Pagar however were not planning to go down without a fight as they staged a comeback through a brace by forward Marin Mudražija. However, Albirex were not to be denied the win as Riku Fukashiro’s precise strike proved to be the match-winner and sealed the title for Albirex with two matches to spare.


As the final whistle reverberated across the stadium, scenes of jubilation erupted among the Albirex players, led by their coach Kazuaki Yoshinaga. This victory marked their sixth league title, adding to their collection from 2016, 2017, 2018, 2020 and 2022. With this achievement, Albirex becomes the second most successful club behind Warriors FC, who have secured nine titles, in the history of Singapore’s professional league.


This latest accomplishment was the culmination of a stunning dominant display throughout the season by the White Swans, who have occupied the pinnacle of the league standings from Matchweek 8. Led by their prolific forward Seia Kunori with 18 goals, and a stellar supporting cast comprising the likes of Tadanari Lee, Shuto Komaki and Keito Komatsu, the Japanese side were able to display their supremacy throughout the 2023 season. This title win is coach Yoshinaga’s fourth triumph in the Singapore Premier League, drawing him level with Richard Bok who claimed four titles with SAF FC from 2006 to 2009.


Follow us on FacebookTwitter and Instagram!