News • October 27, 2017

Eagles Score Four Again To Demolish Wasps


Written by: Ryan Low

Shawal Anuar scored a brace to bring his scoring streak to seven games as Geylang International produced a fine performance to thump Brunei DPMM 4-1 in Friday night’s televised game at Jalan Besar Stadium.

Ricardo Sendra and Victor Coto were the other scorers for Geylang, with Azwan Ali’s second-half goal proving to be a mere consolation for DPMM.

This was the Eagles’ second straight game scoring four, after last week’s 4-0 victory over Garena Young Lions, as they continued their superb form under Noor Ali.

Since the ex-Singapore international took over in mid-June, they have won nine in 16 games in all competitions.

Geylang got off to a stunning start by going three goals up in the opening 22 minutes.

Shawal opened the floodgates on eight minutes as he capitalised on Yura Indera Putera’s poor back pass to round Awangku Mu’izzuddin, before netting for a seventh straight game.

The Eagles doubled their lead in the 20th minute, with Argentinian playmaker Sendra drilling home a superb low shot from the edge of the box after being teed up by Coto.

It was 3-0 two minutes later, with Coto taking advantage of a poor back header from Hazwan Hamzah to go through on goal, before firing past the onrushing Mu’izzuddin.

The Wasps returned for the second half with much more vigour, with half-time substitute Shahrazen Said firing a volley off Adi Said’s cross straight at Syazwan Buhari on 47 minutes.

Five minutes later, Brazilian front man Rafael Ramazotti got a strong header on Azwan A’s inswinging cross, but the effort clipped the crossbar before going over.

They would duly pull one back on 54 minutes, with Azwan Ali firing home a first-time volley off Adi’s deep cross from the right.

The 2015 champions then dominated possession without being able to put their chances away.

There was an excellent opportunity to make it a one-goal game on 77 minutes, but Ramazotti’s header off Adi’s cross was held by Syazwan.

Noor Ali’s side went on to seal the victory eight minutes from time via yet another defensive error from DPMM.

Mu’izzuddin completely missed contact with the box while trying to clear from outside his area, leading to the in-form Shawal to tap home into an empty net for his second goal of the night.

The result meant DPMM have not beaten Geylang in their last eight encounters in all competitions, as they trail seventh-placed Balestier Khalsa by two points but have a game in hand.

Meanwhile Geylang remained three points ahead of Warriors FC to stay fourth in the table.

Geylang International Head Coach Noor Ali: “My game plan was to press them high up early because they would usually pump the long ball to Ramazotti. The intensity was very high in the first 45 minutes.

“But in the second half, we put pressure on ourselves to keep the ball in our own half and that’s what DPMM wanted.  We’re lucky, they hit the post and could have scored a second. That could have been a different ball game.

“The fourth goal was very important for us and it’s good to see Shawal playing this way. He took his chances well and is playing with confidence. The team have the momentum now and hopefully we end the season well.”

Brunei DPMM Team Manager Ali Momin: “We told the boys to keep possession and not to make silly mistakes at the back, but it didn’t work out for us. We made three mistakes which led to three goals. If we minimize that, it will be a different story.

“We did play better in the second half but was only able to score one. If the second goal had come, I’m sure we can fight back.

“The problem with us is the consistency. They did well in the last game against Warriors FC (3-2) but not in this game. We need our players to play with their hearts and hopefully we can improve next season.”

Geylang International:  Syazwan Buhari (GK), Faritz Hameed, Yuki Ichikawa, Anders Aplin, Darren Teh, Nor Azli Yusoff (C) (Asshukrie Wahid 86’), Ricardo Sendra, Gabriel Quak (Safirul Sulaiman 59’), Shahfiq Ghani (Al-Qaasimy Rahman 46’), Shawal Anuar, Victor Coto

Brunei DPMM: Awangku Mu’izzuddin (GK), Helmi Zambin (Shahrazen Said 46’), Hazwan Hamzah, Rosmin Kamis (C), Vincent Salas (Abdul Mui’iz Sisa 46’), Yura Indera Putera (Nurikhwan Othman 83’), Azwan Saleh, Hendra Azam, Azwan Ali, Rafael Ramazotti, Adi Said