Singapore Premier League • April 12, 2024

Excitement Builds as 2024-2025 SPL Season Set to Kick Off



SINGAPORE, 12 APRIL 2024 – The 29th edition of the Singapore Premier League (SPL) will kick off on 4 May 2024, featuring the SPL Community Shield match, followed by the start of the new season a week later and will conclude in May 2025.


The SPL calendar is undergoing a two-year transition process, and these domestic variations are in response to changes in Asian Football Confederation (AFC) Club Competitions and potential FIFA International Calendar amendments. Subsequently, the 2025-2026 SPL season will align with AFC Club Competitions’ calendar and will commence in August 2025 till May 2026.


The SPL Community Shield, a traditional curtain-raiser, will see the clash of heavyweights as reigning league champions Albirex Niigata (S) and Singapore Cup holders Lion City Sailors vie for the first piece of silverware of the season. This highly anticipated encounter not only offers fans a glimpse of the top-tier footballing talent on display but also serves as a precursor to the intense battles that will unfold throughout the season. Prior to the match, fans can head down early to the stadium in order to enjoy a range of activities such as gaming booths and club fanzones as part of the match day fan experience. Ticket details for the SPL Community Shield will be announced on April 19.


Albirex Niigata (S) coach Kazuaki Yoshinaga is looking forward to the match and views it as an opportunity for his new-look side to give a good account of themselves saying: “This season, the club has changed to be a local team, so we are building the team with even more new players. The team is ready to play our best game against our opponents to claim the Community Shield.”


His views were echoed by Sailors Head Coach Aleksandar Ranković who has been preparing his own team with a series of friendlies against high-quality opponents. “I’m satisfied with our preparations so far, including two tough encounters against JDT (Johor Darul Ta’zim). The new boys have gelled well with the squad and we’re all looking forward to a good season together.”



Local football fans can look forward to a weekly dose of footballing action as the league commences on 10 May 2024 with a double matchday as Hougang United hosts Lion City Sailors at the Jalan Besar Stadium while Balestier Khalsa entertain Geylang International at Bishan Stadium in the opening fixtures of the new season. Champions Albirex Niigata (S) begin the defence of their title with a visit to rivals BG Tampines Rovers on Sunday 12 May at the Jalan Besar Stadium at 6pm. The final match day is slated to take place on Sunday 25 May 2025, when Tanjong Pagar United hosts Geylang International. The 2024-2025 SPL season will see a total of nine clubs taking part and the season will continue with a quadruple round-robin format where each team will play 32 matches – 16 home and 16 away.


In keeping with commitments to several competitions taking place during the footballing calendar, there will be several breaks implemented during the league season. The first in-season break will take place after the third match day as the Men’s National Team start their preparations for their final two 2026 FIFA World Cup qualifiers against South Korea and Thailand in June. The month of August will see another break for the return of the Sultan of Selangor Cup that was last held in 2019. The SPL season will take a pause as the Men’s National team participates in the ASEAN Mitsubishi Electric Cup™ 2024, a major tournament in the ASEAN footballing calendar, that will be held from 23 November till 21 December.


Matches will be played primarily between Friday and Sunday, with weekend kick-offs set to be at 6 p.m. As with previous seasons, every match will be broadcast LIVE via Singtel TV and StarHub TV as well as live streamed online via Mediacorp’s meWATCH platform and the SPL YouTube channel.



The 2024-2025 SPL season will see several changes being adopted, primarily to bolster the competitiveness of local clubs on the continental stage. Each club’s squad must now comprise a minimum of 18 professional players to ensure a balanced team composition. Clubs can register up to nine foreign players which includes representation from an AFC Member Association and at least three players under the age of 21 at the time of registration.



On match days, clubs must field a minimum of five local players, which is in line with the quota set by the AFC for its club competitions. Notably, the previous requirement for local clubs (excluding the Young Lions) to field at least one Under-23 Singaporean player during the entire first half of a match has been removed.



The new season will also see the return of Brunei DPMM to their home ground at the Sultan Hassanal Bolkiah National Stadium. The two-time league champions will be playing their home matches in Bandar Seri Begawan for the duration of the season. The Bruneian outfit previously played their home matches at the Jalan Besar Stadium during the 2023 SPL season while their home stadium was undergoing major renovation works.


With Our Tampines Hub stadium undergoing field restoration works for a period of time, there will be a reshuffle of home venues for the two clubs based in the East. BG Tampines Rovers and Geylang International will be playing their home matches at the Jalan Besar Stadium for the upcoming season. Both clubs will be looking to make their return to Our Tampines Hub stadium by the start of the 2025-2026 SPL season.



The Singapore Cup will return for a 25th edition and is set to be played concurrently during the season and will begin in January 2025 and conclude with the final in May 2025. As per last season, all nine participating SPL clubs will take part in the competition.


Fixtures for the 2024-2025 SPL season can be found HERE