Singapore Premier League • December 30, 2015

Geylang Signs Veteran Striker Indra Sahdan


Geylang International are making a strong statement in the lead up to the 2016 S.League season as they have added ex-Singapore international Indra Sahdan and former Tampines Rover midfield general Isa Halim to its squad.

Written by: Khalis Rifhan

Indra Sahdan became the 12th new signing for Geylang International as they look to mount a serious title challenge in the upcoming S.League campaign which will start on 12 February.

Indra made his debut in the S.League with Home United in 1996 (then known as Police) before turning out for Geylang from 1997 to 200.

“I have to give a big thank you to the club management for believing in me, and their efforts to bring me to this club says a lot. I will do my best for the team in the coming season,” said Indra who is returning to his boyhood club.

The club also officially announced the signing of Isa Halim two days back. The duo will join a hosts of new signings at the Bedok Stadium as the Eagles only retained four players from the previous season. The four players are – Hairul Syirhan, Shawal Anuar, Nor Azli Yusoff and Japanese Yuki Ichikawa.

The Eagles’ will be Isa’s fifth club in the S.League having previously played for Woodlands Wellington, Courts Young Lions, Home United and Tampines Rovers.

“I’m honoured to be part of this new Geylang International team. We have a good mixture of experienced players, as well as exciting youngsters. The team, including myself, are definitely excited for the upcoming season, and we are looking forward to the competition ahead.”

Geylang have appointed former player Hasrin Jailani as its new head coach and are reportedly eyeing a Spanish striker to replace Jozef Kaplan, who is heavily linked with a move to Hougang United.

Retained Players: Hairul Syirhan, Shawal Anuar, Nor Azli Yusoff, Yuki Ichikawa

New Signings: Faritz Hameed, Al-Qassimy, Stanely Ng, Taufiq Ghani, Syazwan Buhari, Safirul Sulaiman, Shafiq Ghani, Amy Recha, Gabriel Quak, Sharif Abdul Samat, Isa Halim, Indra Sahdan

Promoted Prime League Players: Shafeeq Faruk, Dhukhilan s/o Jeevamani, Brandon Koh

Photo by Geylang International FC