Singapore Cup • August 24, 2023

2023 Singapore Cup kicks off on 24 September



THURSDAY, 24 AUGUST 2023 – The 24th edition of Singapore’s premier Cup competition, sees the nine Singapore Premier League (SPL) clubs split into one group of four, and one group of five. The clubs were made known of their group stage outcomes when the Official Draw for this year’s tournament was conducted at Jalan Besar Stadium earlier this afternoon.


Group A consists of Geylang International, the Young Lions, Brunei DPMM, Albirex Niigata (S) and Tampines Rovers, while Group B comprises Balestier Khalsa, Lion City Sailors, Hougang United and Tanjong Pagar United. An open draw was implemented, with no seeding of any teams.


Brunei DPMM is returning to the Singapore Cup for the first time since 2019. They were unable to participate in both the Premier League and Cup competitions due to COVID-19 travel restrictions, following their mid-season withdrawal in October of the 2020 season. Their highest finish was second place in 2018. Hougang United created history last season by winning the competition for the first time.


Tampines Rovers and Albirex Niigata (S) are aiming to add to their collections of four triumphs each. The White Swans have their sights set on achieving a double after securing the 2023 Singapore Premier League title earlier this month.


The group-stage matches will run from 24th September 2023 to 26th November 2023, with the top two teams from each group proceeding to a two-legged semi-final stage. That will take place on between 2nd and 6th December 2023, with both the third-place playoff and final scheduled for 9th December 2023. The full list of fixtures will be released on a later date.


Follow us on Facebook, X and Instagram!