News Singapore Premier League • November 6, 2014

Nominees Announced For 2014 S.League Awards Night


Written by: Khalis Rifhan

The excitement of the 2014 Great Eastern Yeo’s S.League season will culminate on Sunday, 9 November as the best coaches, players and fan club will receive accolade for their brilliant performance on and off the pitch.

Gunning for the RHB Coach of the Year awards are Alex Weaver (Warriors FC), Steve Kean (Brunei DPMM) and Marko Kraljevic (Balestier Khalsa). Weaver has transformed the men in blue from finishing in the second tier last year to deserved champions this campaign.

While it was heartbreak for Kean, losing out the league title to Warriors on the final day, the former Blackburn Rovers manager lifted the StarHub League Cup with the Bruneians. For Kraljevic, he has saw out a successful year for the Tigers, bringing them to their first ever RHB Singapore Cup final while ensuring that Balestier remained in the top six.

For the Great Eastern Player of the Year, it will see four poachers up against Singapore national custodian Hassan Sunny (Warriors). The other nominees are strikers that awed the fans with their goals week in and week out this year. They are Rodrigo Tosi (DPMM), Fazrul Nawaz (Home United), Kazuki Sakamoto (Albirex Niigata (S)) and Goran Ljubojevic (Balestier Khalsa).

There are more nominees coming from the league champions as two of their players, Nicolas Velez and Suria Prakash have been nominated for the Yeo’s Young Player of the Year award. The other candidates for the awards are Sahil Suhaimi (Courts Young Lions) and Azwan Ali (DPMM).

Football is nothing without the fans who come out in full force every week to show their support to their favourite players and teams. Three of those vibrant fan clubs, Geylang International, Warriors and Woodlands Wellington, have been nominated for the Polar Fan Club of the Year award.

Below is the full list of nominees for the 2014 S.League Awards Night

Tiger Beer Goal of The Year Nominees

Sahil Suhaimi (Courts Young Lions)

Lee Kwan Woo (Home United)

Nicolas Velez (Warriors FC)

Fabian Kwok (Geylang International FC)

Hafiz Nor (Geylang International FC)

Agu Casmir (Warriors FC)

Mikasa Story of the Year Nominees

“Beating Cancer is his biggest win” – David Lee (The New Paper)

“Rafi To Fire Up Tampines” – Terence Ong (The Straits Times)

“Stewart Rejects A-League Job” – Sazali Abdul Aziz (The New Paper)

“Asraf Rashid : One-armed warrior made good” – Gary Koh (Four Four Two)

Yeo’s Picture of the Year Nominees

“All Lined Up” – Wei Xiang Lim (Four Four Two)

“Fancy Footwork” – Seah Kwan Peng (The Straits Times)

“Head over Heels” – Jeremy Long (The New Paper)

RHB Top Scorer Award

Rodrigo Tosi (Brunei DPMM FC)

Diadora Assistant Referee of the Year Nominees

Lee Tzu Liang Edwin

Goh Gek Pheng Jeffrey

Muhammad Syarqawi Bin Buhari

Ronnie Koh Min Kiat

Manoj Kalwani

Great Eastern Referee of the Year Nominees

Ahmad A’Qashah

Muhammad Taqi Aljaafari

  1. Ravisanthiran

Foo Chuan Hui Jansen

Sukhbir Singh

Singapore Pool Fair Play Award

Geylang International

Polar Fan Club of the Year Nominees

Geylang International FC

Warriors FC

Woodlands Wellington

Yeo’s Young Player of the Year Nominees

Sahil Suhaimi (Courts Young Lions)

Nicolas Velez (Warriors FC)

Suria Prakash (Warriors FC)

Azwan Ali (Brunei DPMM FC)

RHB Coach of the Year Nominees

Steve Kean (Brunei DPMM FC)

Alex Weaver (Warriors FC)

Marko Kraljevic (Balestier Khalsa FC)

Great Eastern Player of the Year Nominees

Rodrigo Tosi (Brunei DPMM FC)

Fazrul Nawaz (Home United FC)

Kazuki Sakamoto (Albirex Niigata FC (S) )

Hassan Sunny (Warriors FC)

Goran Ljubojevic (Balestier Khalsa FC)