News • September 20, 2014

Singapore Selection Geared Up For SOS Cup


Written by: Muhammad Yazid

Sixteen players from the Great Eastern Yeo’s S.League clubs and four LionsXII’s players have been selected to represent the Singapore Selection, which would be locking horns with the Selangor Selection in the annual Sultan Of Selangor (SOS) Cup at the Shah Alam Stadium next Saturday.

The players, varying from six different S.League club, namely: Albirex Niigata (S), Courts Young Lions, Hougang United, Geylang International, Tampines Rovers and Woodlands Wellington, will be led by Hougang United coach Amin Nasir.

The tactician was confident of the players that he has selected as he said, “With the experience level of the players I selected, I believe that the players can gel quickly and put up a good show on that day.”

The four LionsXII players selected for this match are Hafiz Abu Sujad, Emmeric Ong, Aqhari Abdullah and Sufian Anuar.

One player selected was Hougang defender Igor Cerina, who will makes his debut in the SOS Cup.

“I feel honoured and proud that I am selected to play against Selangor Selection. As a team, we are all going to show the reason why we are selected to represent Singapore in this cup,” Cerina expressed.

“I am also excited that I am going to share the dressing room with the rest of the S.League players.”

S.League Chief Executive Officer Mr Lim Chin believed that the players selected will show their worth against the Selangor Selection side.

“This is another showcase for the S.League players who have been selected, mainly because of their performance and it allows them to be more well-known to the fans. It’s a good testament for their performance in the league,” Mr Lim commented.

“We have a credible Singapore Selection which is looking to give past two-year triumphants Selangor Selection a good fight.”

The historic event, which would be held at the Shah Alam Stadium, would also feature a curtain-raiser match between the veteran-teams of Singapore and Selangor.

The Singapore Veteran team will be frontlined by big names Fandi Ahmad, V.Sundramoorthy, Lim Tong Hai, Malek Awab, Steven Tan, R. Suriamurthy and current Tampines coach Rafi Ali.

Fans/Fan groups who are interested to attend the Sultan of Selangor’s Cup 2014 may register with Mr. Amir at [email protected] or call 6880 3119.

Fans should send the following registration details to Mr. Amir – Full Name (as printed in Passport), Birth Date, Passport No. and Date of Passport Expiry (Fans are reminded that passports must be valid for a period of at least 6 months from date of travel, ie  at least valid until 26 March 2015 ).

Registration is free and will close by 24th September, Wednesday.


Date Time Location Fixture
27 September 2014 8pm Shah Alam Stadium, Selangor Singapore Veterans vs
Selangor Veterans
9pm Shah Alam Stadium, Selangor Singapore Selection vs

Selangor Selection



S/N Full Name Position Club
1 Syazwan Buhari GK CYL
2 Fadhil Salim GK HGFC
3 Igor Cerina DF HGFC
4 Wahyudi Wahid DF HGFC
5 Hafiz Abu Sujad DF LionsXII
6 Emmeric Ong DF LionsXII
7 Ali Hudzaifi DF CYL
8 Shahril Alias DF WWFC
9 Ismadi Mukhtar DF/MF TRFC
10 Hafiz Nor MF GIFC
11 Ridhuan Muhamad MF GIFC
12 Shunsuke Nakatake MF HGFC
13 Aqhari Abdullah MF LionsXII
14 Fabian Kwok MF GIFC
15 Fazli Jaffar MF HGFC
16 Shahdan Sulaiman MF TRFC
17 Leonel Felice FW GIFC
18 Sufian Anuar FW LionsXII
19 Geison Moura FW HGFC
20 Kazuya Okazaki FW ANFC
S/N Full Name Position Club
21 Amin Nasir Head Coach HGFC
22 Rafi Ali Assistant Coach TRFC
23 Rosmadi Haron GK Coach HGFC
24 Thomas Pang Physio TRFC
25 Richard Lim Kitman HGFC
26 Clement Teo Team Manager TRFC



S/N Full Name Position
1 Shahri Rahim GK
2 Idham Ridhuan DF
3 Ishak Sa’ad DF
4 Razali Saad DF
5 Lim Tong Hai DF
6 Zulkarnaen Zainal DF
7 Nazri Nasir DF
8 R. Suria Murthi MF
9 Malek Awab MF
10 Syed Faruk MF
11 Kamalruzman Zainal MF
12 Nahar Daud MF
13 Rafi Ali MF
14 Ahmad Sayuti FW
15 Ho Kwang Hock FW
16 Don Ang FW
17 Fandi Ahmad FW
18 V. Sundram Moorthy FW
19 Steven Tan FW
20 Dalis Supait FW
S/N Full Name Position
21 S Rajagopal Coach
22 Samad Allapitchay Coach
23 Richard Wong Team Manager
24 Roy Krishnan Kitman
25 Justin Morais Physio
26 Zunairi Teruna Sports Trainer