News Singapore Premier League • March 17, 2022

Spectator limit to be increased at SPL matches from 18 March


The Ultras Eagles supporting Geylang International, 4 March 2022


SINGAPORE, 17 MARCH 2022 – The number of permitted spectators at AIA Singapore Premier League (SPL) matches will be increased starting this Friday, 18 March 2022.


The limit will be capped at 50 per cent of each venue’s capacity, in accordance with guidelines announced by Sport Singapore (SportSG) on 13 March in line with the government directive of simplification of safe management measures that went into effect on 15 March.


READ: Matchweek 4 Preview


This means that the limits for each of the five SPL match venues for this season will be as follow: 3,000 for Jalan Besar Stadium, 2,500 for Our Tampines Hub and 1,500 each for Toa Payoh Stadium, Hougang Stadium and Jurong East Stadium.


While social distancing will no longer be required, mask-wearing will continue to be mandatory at all times and spectators are required to be fully vaccinated* in order to gain entry. Children aged 12 years old and below, regardless of their vaccination status, will be required to be accompanied with a fully-vaccinated adult in order to gain entry.


Each of the eight SPL clubs will undertake all ticketing operations for their respective home matches and fans are advised to check in with the respective home clubs for specific ticketing details.


Fans who enter will be subjected to the usual security protocols at matches, which include bag checks. As such, fans are advised not to bring bags, as well as prohibited items, when attending the matches. Food and beverages will not be allowed into the stadiums. Musical instruments, banners and flags are subjected to approval at point of entry and must not contravene security and/or regulatory measures.


SPL fans will still be able to watch every match LIVE via online streaming on the SPL YouTube channel and Mediacorp’s meWATCH platform, as well as on broadcast via Singtel and StarHub.


*A person is fully vaccinated after they have received the appropriate regimen of World Health Organisation Emergency Use Listing (WHO EUL) vaccines (e.g. Pfizer-BioNTech/Comirnaty, Moderna, AstraZeneca-SKBio, Serum Institute of India, Janssen, Sinopharm, Sinovac-CoronaVac), including their respective duration post-vaccination and a booster shot for Singapore citizens and Permanent Residents for the vaccine to be fully effective. Please visit for the most updated information on the vaccination regimens and approved vaccines recognised for eligibility for vaccination-differentiated SMMs.


Follow us on Facebook, Twitter and Instagram!