News Singapore Premier League • February 28, 2020

SPL 2020 Club Guide: Tanjong Pagar United


28 FEBRUARY 2020 – Ahead of the 2020 AIA Singapore Premier League (SPL) season, we take a look at each of the nine clubs that are participating in the 25th season of the domestic top flight. Today’s focus is on Tanjong Pagar United!


Seasons: 14 (1996 to 2004, 2011 to 2014)
Nickname: The Jaguars
Stadium: Jurong East Stadium
Highest finish: 2nd (1996, 1997, 1998, 2000)
Chairman: Raymond Tang
Head coach: Hairi Su’ap
Captain: Faritz Hameed
Foreigners: Takahiro Tanaka (Japan), Luiz Junior (Brazil), Shodai Nishikawa (Japan), Yann Motta* (Brazil)


The 2020 SPL season marks the first time in six years that Tanjong Pagar United will be participating since sitting out in 2014 due to financial woes. With a newly-assembled squad that has yet to have many playing opportunities together, the club has set a modest target of finishing in mid-table.


Jaguars fans can look forward to watching former Brazil youth striker Luiz Junior, who has played alongside the likes of Oscar and Alex Sandro, and also against a teenage Neymar.


As one of the league’s pioneer clubs, Tanjong Pagar boasts a rich history even before joining and collected many trophies along the way; their last silverware came in 1998 when they won the inaugural Singapore Cup.


Squad (as at date of publication)
: Joey Sim, Fashah Iskandar, Kenji Rusydi^
Defenders: Faritz Hameed, Delwinder Singh, Yann Motta Pinto, Takahiro Tanaka, Ribiyanda Saswadimata^, Syariful Haq Sapari^
Midfielders: Ignatius Ang, Shodai Nishikawa, Raihan Rahman, Suria Prakash, Suhairi Sabri, Hadiputradila Saswadimata^, Syabil Hisham^, Farihin Farkhan^
Forwards: Syukri Bashir^, Luiz Júnior, Nashrul Amin^, Syahadat Masnawi^
*Local SPL clubs are allowed to sign up to four foreign players; one must be below 21 years of age if a club chooses to sign four. For Tanjong Pagar United, Motta is Under-21.
^ Local SPL clubs are required to have a minimum of six local U-23 players for a squad size of 19 to 25 players; this increases to seven (squad size 26), eight (27) and nine (28).


Follow us on Facebook, Twitter and Instagram!


Check out the other previews: Balestier Khalsa | Albirex Niigata (S) | Tampines Rovers | Brunei DPMM | Hougang United | Lion City Sailors | Geylang International | Young Lions