News Singapore Premier League • March 8, 2021

SPL 2021 Club Guide: Geylang International


8 MARCH 2021 – Ahead of the 2021 AIA Singapore Premier League (SPL) season, we take a look at each of the eight clubs that are participating in the 26th season of the domestic top flight. Today’s focus is on Geylang International!


Seasons: 26
Nickname: The Eagles
Stadium: Our Tampines Hub
Highest finish: 1st (1996, 2001)
2020 finish: 4th
Chairman: Thomas Gay
Head coach: Mohd Noor Ali
Captain: Yuki Ichikawa
Foreigners: Yuki Ichikawa* (Japan), Barry Maguire (Netherlands), Sylvano Comvalius (Netherlands), Matheus Moresche (Brazil)
Social media platforms: Facebook | Instagram


A dramatic final day saw Geylang return to continental competition after a 10-year absence as they finished fourth to secure AFC Cup football, pipping Balestier Khalsa by one point.


It was the Eagles’ highest finish since 2017 when they also placed fourth and Mohd Noor Ali will aim for his side to compete on both domestic and continental stages in 2021. The former Singapore international has retained the core of the squad, including key players Zainol Gulam, Darren Teh, Yuki Ichikawa, Barry Maguire, Firdaus Kasman and Christopher van Huizen. The departures of forwards Khairul Nizam and Iqbal Hussain have been mitigated by the arrivals of Sylvano Comvalius and Matheus Moresche, who come with strong pedigree and will be heavily relied upon to provide offensive threat.


The addition of midfield playmaker Izzdin Shafiq should help to supply firepower to the league’s third-worst attack last year, while the talented Harith Kanadi is one of Singapore’s brightest prospects and will surely be targeting a place in the SEA Games squad.


Noor Ali likes his side to play on the ground and if the Eagles can get their act together early on and consistency will be key if they are to better last year’s finish.


Squad (as at time of publication)
Goalkeepers: Hairul Syirhan, Zainol Gulam, Wayne Chew^
Defenders: Adam Hakeem, Ilhan Noor^, Darren Teh, Harith Kanadi^, Faizal Roslan, Yuki Ichikawa, Iqram Rifqi
Midfielders: Barry Maguire, Umar Akhbar, Matheus Moresche, Izzdin Shafiq, Idris Sadlizan^, Firdaus Kasman, Azri Suhaili^, Nur Luqman Rahman^, Christopher van Huizen
Forwards: Amy Recha, Sylvano Comvalius, Fareez Farhan
*Local SPL clubs, excluding Albirex Niigata (S) and Young Lions, are allowed to sign up to four foreign players; at least one has to be of an AFC Member Association (Asian) nationality. A maximum of four foreign players can be fielded in any one match.
^ Local SPL clubs, excluding Albirex Niigata (S) and Young Lions, are required to have a minimum of six local U-23 players (born on or after 1 January 1998) for a squad size of 18 (minimum) to 25 (maximum) players. At least eight local U-30 players (born on or after 1 January 1991) have to be registered as well.


Follow us on Facebook, Twitter and Instagram!


Check out other previews: Young LionsTanjong Pagar | Hougang United | Balestier Khalsa | Lion City Sailors | Tampines Rovers | Albirex Niigata (S)