News Singapore Premier League • March 5, 2021

SPL 2021 Club Guide: Tanjong Pagar United


5 MARCH 2021 – Ahead of the 2021 AIA Singapore Premier League (SPL) season, we take a look at each of the eight clubs that are participating in the 26th season of the domestic top flight. Today’s focus is on Tanjong Pagar United!


Seasons: 15 (1996 to 2004, 2011 to 2014, 2020)
Nickname: The Jaguars
Stadium: Jurong East Stadium
Highest finish: 2nd (1996, 1997, 1998, 2000)
2020 finish: 8th
Chairman: Raymond Tang
Head coach: Hasrin Jailani
Captain: Faritz Hameed
Foreigners: Luiz Junior (Brazil), Blake Ricciuto (Australia), Reo Nishiguchi (Japan), Shodai Nishikawa* (Japan)
Social media platforms: Facebook | Instagram


Tanjong Pagar United’s return to the SPL after a six-year absence was a welcome move, but the club had a forgettable campaign as they finished bottom after failing to win any of their 14 matches.


Former Singapore international Hasrin Jailani has been installed as the new head coach and a slew of high-profile names have arrived. SPL title-winning duo Blake Ricciuto and Reo Nishiguchi were the first to arrive and they were soon followed by former Singapore stars Ridhuan Muhammad and Khairul Amri.


Brazilian star Luiz Junior, who impressed in his maiden season and finished as their top scorer with seven goals, has been retained along with key locals Faritz Hameed, Raihan Rahman and Delwinder Singh. The Jaguars have also bolstered their squad with several other Singaporean players like Emmeric Ong, Shahrin Saberin and Daniel Martens. The likes of Rusyaidi Salime, Shahib Masnawi, Julian Tan and Ammirul Emmran are also capable of filling in at defence if required.


Squad (as at date of publication)
: Joey Sim, Fashah Iskandar, Hariz Farid
Defenders: Faritz Hameed, Delwinder Singh, Emmeric Ong, Shahrin Saberin
Midfielders: Ridhuan Muhammad, Rusyaidi Salime^, Shodai Nishikawa, Shahib Masnawi^, Julian Tan^, Ammirul Emmran, Blake Ricciuto, Raihan Rahman, Suhairi Sabri, Daniel Martens^
Forwards: Reo Nishiguchi, Anaqi Ismit^, Luiz Júnior, Khairul Amri, Hadiputradila Saswadimata^
*Local SPL clubs, excluding Albirex Niigata (S) and Young Lions, are allowed to sign up to four foreign players; at least one has to be of an AFC Member Association (Asian) nationality. A maximum of four foreign players can be fielded in any one match.
^ Local SPL clubs, excluding Albirex Niigata (S) and Young Lions, are required to have a minimum of six local U-23 players (born on or after 1 January 1998) for a squad size of 18 (minimum) to 25 (maximum) players. At least eight local U-30 players (born on or after 1 January 1991) have to be registered as well.


Follow us on Facebook, Twitter and Instagram!


Check out other previews: Young LionsHougang UnitedBalestier Khalsa | Geylang International | Lion City Sailors | Tampines Rovers | Albirex Niigata (S)