News Singapore Premier League • October 7, 2021

SPL nominees for FAS Awards Night 2021 announced



SINGAPORE, 7 OCTOBER 2021 – The very best of the 2021 AIA Singapore Premier League (SPL) season will be honoured at the Football Association of Singapore (FAS) Awards Night 2021.


An annual event that brings the local football fraternity together, the event also serves to celebrate the continued resilience of the local footballing community amid the COVID-19 pandemic. The FAS Awards Night 2021 will take place on Tuesday, 12 October at 7.30pm at Aux Media Studio.


Outstanding individuals from the 26th season of the SPL will be recognised across 10 categories – one more than last year as the Golden Glove Award will be presented for the first time. The final nominees and eventual winners for the AIA Player of the Year, AIA Young Player of the Year, Polar Mineral Water Coach of the Year, SELECT Goal of the Year and AIA SPL Team of the Year were selected by a judging panel comprising the current Head Coaches, General Managers and Team Captain from the eight SPL clubs participating in the 2021 season as well as FAS Technical Director Joseph Palatsides, FAS Head of Elite Youth Fandi Ahmad and five representatives from separate media outlets.


In light of the current safe-distancing measures, this year’s event will be attended only by relevant personnel, such as all award winners, presenters and essential event crew. As with previous years, the Awards Night will be streamed online on the FAS’ Facebook page and YouTube channel to allow fans to follow the night’s proceedings.



Having bagged 19 goals in 20 games to date, Tomoyuki Doi is on course to take the SPL Top Scorer award ahead of the final round of SPL fixtures this Sunday. The Hougang United attacker, 24, is also a strong contender for the AIA Player of the Year gong as he makes the final three-man shortlist for the second year running. The Japanese star will have to fend off competition from Lion City Sailors duo Stipe Plazibat and Jorge Fellipe. Croatian striker Plazibat, 32, has struck 14 goals in 17 games in his sixth season in Singapore, tallying 77 overall; he was also among the final three-man shortlist last year. His Brazilian team-mate Fellipe, also 32, has been a standout at the heart of defence in his maiden SPL campaign.



The Lion City Sailors also have two nominees on the final three-strong shortlist for the AIA Young Player of the Year award. Midfielder Saifullah Akbar, 22, could win the accolade for a second year in a row but team-mate Nur Adam Abdullah, 20, will be stiff competition having impressed with his dynamic displays at left-back in his first season at the club. Albirex Niigata (S) talisman Ryoya Taniguchi, 22, is the third nominee as the Japanese attacking midfielder is recognised for a breakout season that has seen him score nine times and make eight assists so far, both club-leading totals.



Meanwhile, Albirex Niigata (S) Head Coach Keiji Shigetomi is on the final shortlist for a second consecutive year for Polar Mineral Water Coach of the Year, alongside his counterparts Clement Teo of Hougang United and Philippe Aw from the Young Lions. Shigetomi, 42, won his first SPL title last season during his second year in charge of the White Swans and they still have a chance to retain it. Teo, 54, led the Cheetahs to a third-placed finish this season and will hope to go one better after also being nominated in 2019 while Aw, 43, has earned plaudits for the way his Young Lions side has performed in his first season at the helm.


At the other end of the pitch, Albirex Niigata custodian Takahiro Koga will become the first ever recipient of the SPL Golden Glove accolade – having already amassed eight clean sheets, he has three more than the next closest goalkeeper and cannot be overtaken with one game left.


There will also be an AIA SPL Team of the Year presentation to recognise the best 11 players in a 4-3-3 formation.


All these honours will be bestowed at the Awards Night, which will start at 7.30pm. The entire event will be streamed online at the FAS’ Facebook page and YouTube channel in order for fans to enjoy.



List of SPL nominees for FAS Awards Night 2021

AIA Singapore Premier League
Award Nominee Club/Organisation
AIA Player of the Year Jorge Fellipe Lion City Sailors
Stipe Plazibat Lion City Sailors
Tomoyuki Doi Hougang United
AIA Young Player of the Year Nur Adam Abdullah Lion City Sailors
Ryoya Taniguchi Albirex Niigata (S)
Saifullah Akbar Lion City Sailors
Polar Mineral Water Coach of the Year Clement Teo Hougang United
Keiji Shigetomi Albirex Niigata (S)
Philippe Aw Young Lions
SELECT Goal of the Year To be announced after final round of SPL fixtures on 10 October N.A.
SELECT Referee of the Year Farhad Mohd N.A.
Jansen Foo N.A.
Ahmad A’Qashah N.A.
SELECT Assistant Referee of the Year Andy Tan Mint Land N.A.
Lim Kok Heng Ivan N.A.
Ronnie Koh Min Kiat N.A.
SPL Golden Glove Takahiro Koga Albirex Niigata (S)
Story of the Year After years in the wilderness and a winless season, Tanjong Pagar aim to build on victory Matthew Mohan, Channel NewsAsia
Herding cows, picking fruit: What S’pore’s female footballers do to play in Australia Kimberly Kwek, The Straits Times
Leaving no child behind at HotShotz football clinic Dilenjit Singh, The New Paper
Photo of the Year Air Ilhan Leo Shengwei, Playmaker
Battle Above The Ground Siaw Woon Chong, Junpiter Futbol
Watching Your Back Chua Boon Ping, Junpiter Futbol
Singapore Pools Fair Play (To be announced at Awards Ceremony)
AIA SPL Team of the Year (To be announced at Awards Ceremony)
FAS Special Recognition Awards (To be announced at Awards Ceremony)



Follow us on Facebook, Twitter and Instagram!