News Singapore Premier League • November 5, 2020

Singapore Premier League Week 8: Roundup


Nazrul Nazari and Hafiz Nor challenge for the ball last night

SINGAPORE, 5 NOVEMBER 2020 – The AIA Singapore Premier League (SPL) action continued in midweek, with leaders Tampines Rovers edging Young Lions to go four clear at the top while the Lion City Sailors lost further ground after being held to a frustrating draw by Hougang United. Tanjong Pagar’s wait for a win continues after a narrow defeat to Geylang International as we recap all the action below…


Gavin rotates as Stags set the pace
Tampines 1-0 Young Lions | Our Tampines Hub | 4 November
Madhu Mohana 24’

It wasn’t pretty, but Tampines did the job in the end without the likes of Daniel Bennett and Jordan Webb, who were rested by Gavin Lee ahead of this weekend’s Eastern Derby. Chosen to lead the backline in Bennett’s absence, Madhu not only excelled in stifling the Young Lions attackers but also contributed the winning goal. The 29-year-old was Johnny-on-the-spot to convert in the six-yard box after Nazri Nasir’s boys failed to clear their lines from Kyoga Nakamura’s corner, despite Amirul Haikal’s best attentions on the line to keep it out. The Stags then spurned a couple of opportunities late on, but it did not matter as they went four points clear of nearest challengers Albirex Niigata (S).



  • Madhu’s goal was his first in 30 league games; his last one was also a winning one, in Tampines 1-0 victory over Balestier Khalsa on 15 September 2018.
  • Young Lions failed to produce a single shot on target.
  • Tampines have scored in 26 straight SPL matches – last drawing a blank in a 0-0 home draw against Albirex in March 2019.
  • Fazrul Nawaz made his first Tampines appearance since July 2018 when he came on as a second-half substitute in a 0-0 draw against Home United.
  • Young Lions’ Hami Syahin made his first domestic appearance since October 2019 when he started for Home United in a 3-0 Singapore Cup defeat to the Stags at the same venue.


Tampines: Syazwan Buhari (GK), Ryaan Sanizal (Amirul Adli 46’), Madhu Mohana, Syahrul Sazali, Irwan Shah, Kyoga Nakamura, Zehrudin Mehmedović, Shah Shahiran (Huzaifah Aziz 56’), Yasir Hanapi (C) (Fazrul Nawaz 83’), Taufik Suparno, Boris Kopitovic.
Unused subs: Zulfairuuz Rudy (GK), Jordan Webb, Baihakki Khaizan, Danish Siregar.
Young Lions: Ridhwan Fikri (GK), Irfan Najeeb, Jacob Mahler (C), Syed Akmal, Shahib Masnawi (Danish Irfan 89’), Idraki Adnan (Hami Syahin 46’), Nur Adam Abdullah, Shahrulnizam Mazlan (Ryhan Stewart 63’), Zamani Zamri (Khairin Nadim 89’), Amirul Haikal (Amer Hakeem 89’), Bill Mamadou.
Unused subs: Nurshafiq Zainal (GK), Sahffee Jubpre.


Toothless Jaguars defeated again
Tanjong Pagar 0-1 Geylang | Jurong East | 4 November
Khairul Nizam 61’

A lack of bite upfront continues to haunt Tanjong Pagar as they fell to their fourth defeat in seven games. Geylang were largely on top throughout and perhaps should have won by more goals. Nur Luqman could have opened the scoring before half time, but his 20-yard snapshot came off the left-hand post. Nizam was then introduced after the restart and proved to be the difference-maker for the Eagles. Benefiting from Barry Maguire’s quick lofted free-kick, the burly forward went clear of a slack Jaguars backline before calmly finishing past the onrushing Kenji Rusydi to ensure Noor Ali’s side ended a two-match losing streak.



  • Tanjong Pagar lost by the odd goal for the third time this season.
  • The Jaguars failed to record a shot on target for a second straight game.
  • Geylang are now undefeated in the last seven encounters.


Tanjong Pagar: Kenji Rusydi (GK), Delwinder Singh (C), Yann Motta, Syabil Hisham (Luiz Junior 45’), Takahiro Tanaka, Ammirul Emmran, Suhairi Sabri, Raihan Rahman, Shodai Nishikawa, Nashrul Amin (Farihin Farkhan 69’), Hadiputradila Saswadimata (Suria Prakash 42’).
Unused subs: Fashah Iskandar (GK), Ribiyanda Saswadimata, Julian Tan, Elfy Danish.
Geylang: Hairul Syirhan (GK), Darren Teh, Yuki Ichikawa (C), Adam Hakeem (Umar Akhbar 73’), Harith Kanadi, Kamolidin Tashiev, Firdaus Kasman, Nur Luqman Rahman (Iqbal Hussain 46’), Barry Maguire, Christopher Van Huizen (Amy Recha 80’), Fareez Farhan (Khairul Nizam 46’).
Unused subs: Wayne Chew (GK), Shahrin Saberin, Azri Suhaili.


Inconsistent Sailors see title hopes fade
Sailors 1-1 Hougang | Bishan | 4 November
Shahdan Sulaiman 60’ | Shawal Anuar 34’

The Sailors’ stuttering start to the season continued as Hougang produced a resolute defensive display to claim a point away from home. The visitors’ soak-and-strike strategy worked to a treat in the first half as Charlie Machell’s sweet through ball released Shawal, who neatly rounded Hassan Sunny before slotting home from a tight angle. The Sailors upped their ante after the break and duly pulled level through a blistering 30-yard drive by Shahdan. Aurelio Vidmar’s charges piled on the pressure in the dying stages, but were unable to find a winner with substitute Faizal Roslan seeing his goal-bound shot agonisingly cleared off the line by Anders Aplin. The Sailors are now seven points behind Tampines.



  • The Sailors attempted 22 shots compared to Hougang’s seven.
  • The Sailors are yet to record successive wins this season.
  • Hougang are now undefeated in the last four encounters.
  • Shawal was also on the scoresheet when he last visited the Sailors’ predecessor, Home United – netting a late consolation for former side Geylang International in a 3-2 defeat.
  • Shahdan scored his first goal for the Sailors – 10 years after he had netted for Home United in a 5-2 win over SAFFC in the 2010 season.


Sailors: Hassan Sunny (GK), Aqhari Abdullah (Faizal Roslan 85’), Kaishu Yamazaki, Tajeli Salamat, Naqiuddin Eunos, Shahdan Sulaiman, Saifullah Akbar (Izzdin Shafiq 74’), Gabriel Quak, Arshad Shamim (Adam Swandi 60’), Hafiz Nor (Haiqal Pashia 74’), Stipe Plazibat.
Unused subs: Rudy Khairullah (GK), Abdil Qaiyyim, Aizat Murhamdani.
Hougang: Ridhuan Barudin (GK), Nazrul Nazari, Anders Aplin, Lionel Tan, Zachary Anderson, Hafiz Sujad (Maksat Dzhakybaliev 79’), Fabian Kwok (Faiz Salleh 90’), Charlie Machell (Justin Hui 79’), Naufal Azman (Afiq Noor 46’), Farhan Zulkifli (Shahfiq Ghani 90’), Shawal Anuar.
Unused subs: Daniel Ong (GK), Emmeric Ong.


Follow us on FacebookTwitter and Instagram!