News • July 13, 2016

The New Paper League Cup 2016: Depleted Warriors Face Three-Time Winners Wasps


Written by: Shawn Lim

The New Paper League Cup (Group A)

Brunei DPMM vs Warriors FC
(Wednesday, 13 July, 7.30pm, Jalan Besar Stadium)

Great Eastern Yeo’s S.League defending champions Brunei DPMM will kick off The New Paper League Cup 2016 against Warriors FC at Jalan Besar Stadium on Wednesday night.

The Wasps last won the competition two years ago, defeating Tanjong Pagar United in the final by two goals for their third League Cup trophy in their history.

In contrast, Warriors have never won the League Cup in spite of their illustrious history, where they have won the S.League for a record nine times.

The Choa Chu Kang-based club also have had to endure a torrid season this year, where they appointed a new coach midway through their S.League campaign and are currently languishing in seventh place in the league table.

Despite the odds being stacked against them, Warriors defender Emmeric Ong is confident that his team can produce a shock or two and go all the way to winning their first-ever League Cup.

“I think for this competition, it doesn’t matter where our league standing is. This competition, everybody starts on a clean state,” said Ong.

“Even though we are in the same group as Tampines and DPMM, plus Hougang who have been performing well in the league this year, we all have an equal chance.

“Warriors have been historically a big club and we have shown that we can produce results when it mattered and we will do our best in this competition.”

Madhu Mohana and Hafiz Nor are set to miss the competition as both Warriors players are away on international duty for Singapore, while Shaiful Esah and Hafiz Osman have to serve their suspensions from last year.

Suspensions: Shaiful Esah and Hafiz Osman (Warriors FC)


03/07/16  Ceres La Salle 3-2 Brunei DPMM (League Cup)
30/06/16  Brunei DPMM 0-3 Ceres La Salle (Singapore Cup)
24/06/16  Balestier Khalsa 1-4 Brunei DPMM (S.League)
19/06/16  Garena Young Lions 1-1 Brunei DPMM (S.League)
11/06/16  Tampines Rovers 4-3 Brunei DPMM (S.League)

Warriors FC – DDLLW

23/06/16  Hougang United 1-3 Warriors FC (S.League)
15/06/16  Warriors FC 2-0 Geylang International (S.League)
10/06/16  Albirex Niigata (S) 3-2 Warriors FC (S.League)
27/05/16  Geylang International 2-1 Warriors FC (Singapore Cup)
20/05/16  Warriors FC 1-1 Balestier Khalsa (S.League)